Background Image

College Forum Volume 16, Number 2 : Page 3

PRESIDENTIAL moments Padrón Receives Prestigious National Service Award The accomplishments of Miami Dade College were thrust into the national spotlight again with the news that College President Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón was selected as an honored recipient of the Citizen Service Award from Voices for National Service. A leading advocate for academic learning strengthened by ser-vice, Padrón is the first college president in the nation to receive this prestigious recognition, given annually to individuals who have invested in the civic health of our nation through support of na-tional service. He was honored along with music superstar Jon Bon Jovi at an awards reception in Washington, D.C., and he joins the distinguished ranks of notable leaders who have formerly re-ceived this award, including Caroline Kennedy and Jean Case of The Case Foundation. European Union Ambassador João Vale de Almeida and MDC President Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón during a recent visit to the College. (For more, see Page 6.) Canadian Ambassador to the U.S. Gary Doer with President Padrón. Higher Education Honor Presented to MDC President The recent weeks of major accolades and honors for Miami Dade College’s President Padrón continue with the nationally respected higher education leader receiving the coveted 2012 TIAA-CREF ACE Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence. This coveted award is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame and former member of the TIAA-CREF Board of Overseers. A nationally renowned educator and world humanitarian, he is considered one of the most influential figures in higher education in recent history. The award recognizes leadership and commitment to higher ed-ucation and contributions to the greater good. It is presented to a current college or university president or chancellor who embodies the spirit of Father Hesburgh, his commitment and contributions to higher education and society. Gene Flood, TIAA-CREF executive vice president, and President Padrón at the American Council on Education (ACE) annual meeting in Los Angeles . Padrón Named Ascend Fellow The Aspen Institute has named President Padrón to the inaugu-ral class of its Ascend Fellowship program, one of a select group of 20 leaders from across the country who are pioneering two-generation approaches to move families beyond poverty. “Ascend Fellows are exceptional leaders from government, phi-lanthropy, research, nonprofits, the media and private sector,” said Anne Mosle, Ascend Executive Director. “Each one will pursue cutting-edge work that illustrates two-generation strategies in their various fields.” Ascend, launched in 2011, is a hub for breakthrough ideas and proven strategies that move parents and children toward econom-ic security together. Fellows will receive scholarships to support participation and execute action plans. President Padrón with Richard Haas, president of the Council on Foreign Relations in Miami. MDC President to Co-Chair Century Foundation Commission The Century Foundation has tapped President Padrón to co-chair a special task force to consider strategies to strengthen colleges. The Task Force on Preventing Community Colleges from Becom-ing Separate and Unequal will address the growing racial and so-cioeconomic divide between two-and four-year institutions. Dr. Padrón’s co-chair is Anthony Marx, president of the New York Public Library and former president of Amherst College. The task force is comprised of scholars of higher education and representa-tives of the business, philanthropic and civil rights communities. American Academy Picks Padrón President Padrón is in good company as he begins his appoint-ment on the Commission of the Humanities & Social Sciences, which recommends steps government, academia, business and philanthropy can take to support and strengthen these areas. The Commission was created by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at the request of Congress. Other noted members include Dr. Richard H. Brodhead, president of Duke University; John W. Rowe, chairman and CEO of Exelon Corp.; Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau, chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley; Da-vid Brooks, New York Times journalist; Dr. James Cuno, president and CEO of the J. Paul Getty Trust; Dr. Drew Gilpin Faust, Harvard University president; Dr. Amy Gutmann, president of the University of Pennsylvania; Dr. John L. Hennessy, president of Stanford Uni-versity; Rev. John I. Jenkins, University of Notre Dame president; director George Lucas; and cellist Yo-Yo Ma; among many others. – AMS Actor Kevin Kline and President Padrón at MDC’s Miami International Film Festival. Photo by Tim Trumble Photography for the American Council on Education

Previous Page  Next Page

Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here